Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Beaton wins 11th Worcester, succeeds Polito

Matt Beaton (D-Shrewsbury) has defeated Kevin Byrne (R-Shrewsbury) in the race to succeed State Rep. Karyn Polito (R-Shrewsbury), who left the state house to run for Treasurer.

With 9 of 11 precincts reporting, Beaton holds a 62% to 38% advantage. All nine precincts that have reported were from the candidates' hometown of Shrewsbury.

Byrne was a late addition to the ballot. Dennis Leary (D-Shrewsbury) was the only candidate on the Democratic primary ballot in September, but was forced to dropout due to health issues. Byrne was nominated to replace Leary at caucus of the Shrewsbury and Westboro Democratic Town Committees.

No comments:

Post a Comment


CMassPolitics.com Copyright © 2009 Premium Blogger Dashboard Designed by SAER